Y can't I re-raise?

Rate this Topic
 


Displaying #1-3 of 3 total posts
141771 Nibs: 80
Member Since: Jan 27th 2011
Quote
Posted on Feb 16th 2011  -  Subject: Y can't I re-raise?
I've wondered about this 4 years but never asked about it. lets say 4 example that there are 3 ppl in the hand. lets say i raise 1000 chips, the 2nd guy calls, & the 3rd person goes all in w/ his last 1200 chips, basically re-raising me 200 more chips. but then i'm only given the option 2 call, not raise. if he raised, y can't i re-raise? is it cuz his raise wasn't at least the size of my raise? or not at least the size of the bb?
11992 Nibs: 75,250
Member Since: Dec 19th 2005
Quote
Posted on Jun 22nd 2011
This seems to be something that poker sites have built into their software. I don't play a lot of casino games, but last time I checked, even when someone puts all their chips in and can't make a full raise, you can still raise over top of them, there is simply a side pot. I've been playing for many years, but I've never thought to search out the official ruling on this. You certainly bring up a good point, because I've always been under the impression that you can go allin anytime you want, and this sort of setup stops you from doing so.
It's easier to fish if you're the one casting the reel.
102929 Nibs: 7,871
Member Since: Jan 13th 2009
Quote
Posted on Dec 7th 2011  -  Subject: the real reason
I've wondered about this 4 years but never asked about it. lets say 4 example that there are 3 ppl in the hand. lets say i raise 1000 chips, the 2nd guy calls, & the 3rd person goes all in w/ his last 1200 chips, basically re-raising me 200 more chips. but then i'm only given the option 2 call, not raise. if he raised, y can't i re-raise? is it cuz his raise wasn't at least the size of my raise? or not at least the size of the bb? This is why . #1) consider your situation and you had AA, blinds are 250/500. and you raise to to $2000, the guy to the left of you fold because $2000 is too much and the guy calls ur all in and u win $3200 if you bet him not counting blinds. #2)Now heres the hypothetical situation assuming I can reraise a nonfull raise.  Same situation I have 2 AA, I know if I raise $2000, the guy to my left will fold, and the last guy with $1200 will all in me.  ANd I will still only win $3200, but lets assume I raise $1000, the guy to my left will call because $1000 is cheap to see the flop.  The the 3rd guy goes all in for $1200, then you reraise to $3000, well the guy to your left already put in $1000, so to protect is first call he will be forced to call again if he folds he will lose $1000, thus making your AA much more profitable, so it is too easy to manipulate the pot, if you can reraise like that.   I hope you understand what I am trying to say
Displaying #1-3 of 3 total posts

header

[close]